Word Press Daily Prompt: Moved to Tears

Describe the last time you were moved to tears by something beautiful.

For those of you unfamiliar with WordPress, a prompt is given daily. Usually I ignore these, but this one really spoke to me. It has nothing to do with Taken in Hand or Domestic Discipline. It has to do with my daughter.

I have to admit, I am moved to tears quite frequently these days. At almost 13 years old, she has become such an amazing young lady. She is so smart, almost always makes good choices, has such a kind and sensitive heart, is independent and responsible, stays out of trouble, and it absolutely beautiful on the outside, as well.

Every time I see this beauty in her, it moves me to tears. I ask God, “How did I get so lucky for you to choose me to take care of this beautiful creature?” I stand in awe of my baby girl, sometimes unable to believe it.

The last time she brought me to tears was a few weeks ago when we were school shopping. She was trying on clothes and she just looked so grown up. Luckily, she is a modest dresser, so we never have that argument to deal with. But, she has such a fashion sense (she did NOT get that from me, I guarantee it!), she looked so beautiful in everything she chose, and just so grown up. How did she get from a beautiful newborn to an almost 13-year-old 7th grader? It went so fast. We have had our share of tribulations in her short life, including several moves, the divorce of her parents, and dealing with a mother who yells way too much (I’ve heard many moms feel this way). Still, she is absolutely amazing!

And, as much as I’d like to say that was the last time she brought me to tears, me writing this is also making me weepy. People like to give me and her father the credit, but it’s all her. She has become more than either of us could have dreamed. We are both very lucky to have her!

Image

Leave a Reply

